Rattlebag developed out of the musical partnership between Simon Kilner, Richard Clay and Pete Turner. During the early part of 2005 it became, at one point, a seven piece folk-rock band.

A great strength of the band was its five vocalists, and the rich vocal harmonies that it could produce, but it also produced some interesting improvisatory music based round traditional folk tunes. (Listen to the clips on this page.)  

Rattlebag gave its final performance at a festival in Banstead Park, Harehills, Leeds, in June 2005.
Banstead Park -
           James looks on
"Young James"
Simon and Richard

Full Band Line-up:

"Young James" Mulligan - vocals, guitar, percussion
Beth Harris - vocals
James "Jim" Whelan - vocals, guitar, harmonica
Simon Kilner - vocals, guitar, percussion
Richard Clay - vocals, guitar, mandolin
Pete Turner - bass
Jamie Garrett - drums

"Maid in the Cherry Tree"
"Steal Away"
Beth and Pete